K.C. Cave
Why erotica?
I love sex! I’ve always loved sex! It’s a miracle–the intertwining of bodies, the buildup, the excitement, the tension and the incredible release of orgasm (or orgasms, when with a lover). And all the places to have sex–in bed, in the kitchen, on the couch, in the middle of the floor, on the porch, in the garage, anyplace outdoors (but especially in the woods)! It’s just so exciting. To be able to write about sex, in nitty gritty, loving detail (and unabashedly), is thrilling and liberating. All that contrasts with the reality that sex is taboo (explicit sex, anyway–as far as the media and advertising, it’s shoved down your throat). Sex–and I include masturbating, which I truly love and do every day–is something that virtually everybody does, but no one talks about. So it’s a real privilege to use my writing talent to share the joy and mystery of sexual arousal with readers as we explore this incredibly powerful human experience.
Do you remember the first erotica story you ever read, and the impact it had on you?
Two books, Over the Knee and On the Bare, both by Fiona Locke, got me so hot and bothered that I started thinking about writing erotica. They’re both very well written, so it set a high standard. The topics are spanking (and the books are very British, and the British are so into spanking!), which isn’t my primary kink. But the heat level is very high.
Does the process of writing erotica sexually stimulate you?
Absolutely. I can gauge a scene by how long I last before I have to stop writing, take off my clothes (assuming I’m not already nude; I usually am!) and begin self-abuse (ah, the use of irony!). Often, though, the arousal occurs away from the computer when a sex fantasy gels into a story. The memory of the sexual arousal carries through until I can sit down and write. It’s a lot of fun.
What is your favorite erotica genre to write?
Two answers: In terms of sales, gay. My first gay story, Welcome to the Club, was something I wrote as an afterthought (and without a lot of enthusiasm). The result? It’s far and away my best seller. Go figure. (I wrote a sequel, too: The Glory Hole Shebang.) The other category is lesbian (usually considered not very popular with readers). All my female characters end up making it with another woman (although some also continue to have sex with men). This is no surprise, since I definitely find women the most desirable sex. All my stories (I think) have some element of BDSM, But very mild–handcuffs, restraint, fun spanking. And I love masturbation! Everyone needs to do it more! Including my characters! Heck, they do it together! Yeah, I masturbate a lot, too.
What are your favorite words when writing erotica?
“Slick” and “smear” come to mind, as in something like, “She smeared her slick juices on her lover’s tummy before leaning in for a long, passionate kiss.” I like sloppy sex! Of course, my characters always have lots of towels handy. “Bucked” is another, as in, “Her hips bucked as she came.” And squeal! I love to make my woman characters squeal when they’re penetrated or about to come. As for female genitalia, the choices are limited. “Vagina” is so clinical (ditto “vulva”), but sometimes it’s the right word. I lean toward “pussy” the most. “Cunt” is harsh to my ears (I never use it) and I reserve it for highly charged scenes. “Yoni” is nice, but I’m not sure if all readers know what it means (vulva). Moving on to men, “cock” is what I use most. “Dick” for variety. “Penis” I use less often. But sometimes you just have to mix it up. Not a lot of choices, really. I mean, there’s “johnson” and other slang terms, but it just sounds so…slangy.
What turns you off when reading erotica?
Other than complete and total crap–bad grammar, misspelled words, awful sentence structure, incoherent story? Anything that takes you out of the story. For example, a lot of writers use “sex” when they should be writing pussy or vulva or cunt. Drives me nuts! I’m pretty sure it’s a British thing, and if the writer is a Brit, I’ll grin and bear it. I just hate to read, “She put her hand between her legs and touched her sex.” Grr! Pussy! Cunt! Vulva! Another rant: Folks, the vagina is the birth canal. Confusing “pussy” and “vagina” drives me up the wall (and takes me out of the story). The vulva (or pussy) includes the inner and outer labia, the clitoris and hood, the entrance to the vagina (a hole, after all), and some other structures. Writing “vagina” when the correct word is “pussy” should be a crime. Sheesh.
How much of your personal sexual experience is in your fiction?
A lot, but don’t read too much into it. Certainly the power and passion of sex is something I’ve experienced and put into my writing. But a lot of it is pure imagination (or, maybe a better word, fantasy). Have I ever been caged in an acrylic cock cage (Making Michael Submit)? Uh, no. I’ve never seduced a cute female cop in a cheap interstate motel room (Alison’s New Toy) or “entertained” a bunch of steel mill workers on a busted pool table in the back of cheap bar (Upping the Ante). Nor have I sucked a dozen anonymous cocks in a run-down men’s highway restroom (The Glory Hole Shebang). And readers, I’m pretty sure, aren’t going to have those kinds of experiences. But it sure is fun reading (and writing) them.
Leave a Reply

